8. Classification of forests and protected areas

8. Classification of forests and protected areas

For the purpose of conservation and management, forests and protected areas are classified as indicated below.


All forests except those designated otherwise are national forests. They are divided into the following categories.


Government Managed forests. National forest areas managed by His Majesty’s Government using approved forest management plans.


Community forests. A part of national forest which are handed over to users’ groups as community forests to conserve, manage and utilise for their basic local needs.


Leasehold forests. Forests on land that has been leased by central or local government agencies to private owners including individuals, co-operatives, institutions, and commercial firms.


Religious forests. Forests belonging to religious institutions.


Private Forests. Forests or trees raised and managed on privately owned land.


Protected Areas. A National forest declared by HMG/N as a protected forest pursuant to the Act of 1993, which considers it have a special environment or scientific or cultural importance.


Conservation Areas. Land such as national parks, reserves, protected areas, or other categories gazetted under the National Park and Wildlife Conservation Act of 1973.


Protected Watersheds. Any land under public or private ownership designated as a protected watershed under the Soil and Watershed Conservation Act of 1982.